Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development

Start Your Free Trial To Continue Watching
As a member, you'll also get unlimited access to over 8,500 lessons in math, English, science, history, and more. Plus, get practice tests, quizzes, and personalized coaching to help you succeed.
Free 5-day trial
It only takes a minute. You can cancel at any time.
Already registered? Login here for access.
Start your free trial to take this quiz
As a premium member, you can take this quiz and also access over 8,500 fun and engaging lessons in math, English, science, history, and more. Get access today with a FREE trial!
Free 5-day trial
It only takes a minute to get started. You can cancel at any time.
Already registered? Login here for access.
  1. 0:54 Stages of Cognitive Development
  2. 1:09 Sensorimotor
  3. 1:52 Preoperational
  4. 2:52 Concrete Operational
  5. 3:40 Formal Operational
Show Timeline
Taught by

Ellie Green

Ellie holds a B.A. with Honors in English from Stanford University. She is pursuing a Ph.D. in English Literature at Princeton University.

How does a child's thinking change as she gets older? When does she learn about object permanence, conservation and abstract reasoning? You'll see that thought processes we take for granted as adult are actually important milestones in a child's cognitive development.

Janie is six, and she has really curly hair. She's noticed that when she takes a bath and her hair gets wet, it looks longer. She thinks this is really cool; she believes that her hair literally grows when it gets wet and shrinks again upon drying. She asks her mother one day if keeping her hair wet for longer will help it stay long when it dries; her mother laughs and explains to a disappointed Janie that when curly hair gets wet, it straightens out and looks longer. Hair doesn't actually grow when it's wet. Janie has trouble understanding this, because she's at a stage of cognitive development where it's hard for her to imagine that the same volume of a substance--in this case, her hair--can be shaped very differently. Psychologist Jean Piaget did a lot of work to define these stages, developing his 4-stage model of cognitive development. As children move through these stages, they begin to think more and more like adults.

The first stage, which lasts until the child is about two years old (0-2), is called the sensorimotor stage. Babies in this stage learn about the world through their senses. Cognitively, a baby's biggest sensorimotor development is a sense of object permanence. Have you ever wondered why young babies enjoy peek-a-boo so much? It's not that fun for adults because we know that when a person covers their face, they're still there. But young babies think that if they can't see something, it has disappeared; so when mom covers her face, the baby thinks it's gone, and when she reappears, she's returned! Once babies develop object permanence, at around eight months, they recognize that their mother doesn't really go anywhere, and aren't quite as interested in peek-a-boo.

During this first stage of cognitive development, babies learn about the world through their senses.

Piaget's second stage spans ages 2-7. He called it the preoperational stage. Piaget uses operational as a loose synonym for logic. Children in the preoperational stage, therefore, are only in the initial stages of using language and applying abstract thought. They are still not very good at reasoning and going through tasks solely in their heads. Children in this stage are also very egocentric and are gradually learning that others think differently than they do. In experiments to test this, a psychologist will let a child watch him open up an empty juice box, fill it with colorful ribbons, and then seal up the box. Then the psychologist asks what the child's mom will think is in the box. Children at the early end of this stage, around three or four, will say that their mom will know there are ribbons in the box. Only children who are at the later end of this stage will realize that since their mom hasn't seen the psychologist tamper with the juice box, their mom will still think it has juice in it.

This is the second stage of cognitive development.

Piaget called his third stage, which he believe characterized children from 7-11 years old the concrete operational. Children become more capable of thinking logically during these years. They acquire the cognitive skill that Piaget called conservation, which will eventually help Janie understand that her hair does not actually grow longer when it gets wet. Basically, conservation is the understanding that simply changing the outer form of something does not necessarily change its quantity. To use a more concrete example than Janie's hair, after children have acquired conservation they come to understand that a taller, thinner glass can hold the same amount of water as a fatter, shorter one.

In the third stage, children become more capable of logical thinking.
concrete operational

Unlock Content Over 8,500 lessons in all major subjects

Get FREE access for 5 days,
just create an account.

Start a FREE trial

No obligation, cancel anytime.

Want to learn more?

Select a subject to preview related courses:

People are saying…

"This just saved me about $2,000 and 1 year of my life." — Student

"I learned in 20 minutes what it took 3 months to learn in class." — Student

See more testimonials

Did you like this?
Yes No

Thanks for your feedback!

What didn't you like?

What didn't you like?

Next Video
Create your Account

Sign up now for your account. Get unlimited access to 8,500 lessons in math, English, science, history, and more.

Meet Our Instructors

Meet all 53 of our instructors